Los Crema Paraiso 
De Pelicula 
Cutuprá Productions
Street: 05.05
Los Crema Paraiso = 
Tears For Fears + Si*Sé +
Pedrito Martinez Group + DC Fontana 
I was inspired to check out this record due to the rad look of the vintage B-movie-collage-styled album cover art—and I am pleasantly satisfied with what I heard. Los Crema Paraiso is made up of Neil Ochoa (Si*Sé, Chicha Libré), Jose Luis Pardo (Los Amigos Invisibles) and Álvaro Benavides (Pedrito Martinez Group). They deliver a stunning compilation of traditional Venezuelan music that blends jazz, rock, funk and electronica. This results in far-reaching examples of bossa nova, modern jazz and warm, groovy atmospherics that are perhaps best defined by the track “Sleepwalk.” De Pelicula also hosts several covers that pronounce this unique style. Some notable ones that Western listeners might be able to distinguish would be Depeche Mode’s “Personal Jesus,” sung by Si*Sé’s Carol C, and Tears For Fears’ “Everybody Wants to Rule the World,” sung by Argenis Brito (Señor Coconut). 
–Nick Kuzmack