The Utah Film Critics Association Awards

Posted December 21, 2012 in
The Utah Film Critics Association met on Thursday, Dec. 20 to vote on their top picks of 2012. Made up of film aficionados in print, online and broadcast media around the state, the UFCA have been divvying out film industry awards in 10 different categories before the New Year hits since 2000, making this its twelfth year.

The awards follow similar categories as the esteemed Oscars, including Best Picture, Best Lead Performance by an Actor and Best Original Screenplay, and may very well end up serving as a forecast of what we can expect to see from the Academy Awards in February.

This year, awards went to some Sundance favorites, like Indie Game: The Movie, which won Best Documentary Feature, and actor Dwight Henry of Beasts of the Southern Wild for Best Support Performance by an Actor. Other awards went to Stephen Chbosky, Best Adapted Screenplay for The Perks of Being a Wallflower; Wes Anderson, Best Achievement in Directing for Moonrise Kingdom; and ParaNorman swept up the Best Animated Feature award.

Best Picture was awarded to Zero Dark Thirty, a thriller directed by the Hurt Locker’s Kathryn Bigelow about the hunt for former al-Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden after 9-11, who was killed by a Navy S.E.A.L. Team in May 2011. The film has received a lot of positive critical acclaim from other national media sources, as well as criticism on its factual accuracy by some U.S. government officials. Zero Dark Thirty sees a national release on Jan. 11, 2013.

Below is the full list of the awards:

Best Picture
Winner: Zero Dark Thirty
(runner-up: Looper)

Best Achievement in Directing
Winner: Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
(runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Lead Performance by an Actor
Winner: Joaquin Phoenix, The Master
(runner-ups: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln, & John Hawkes, The Sessions)

Best Lead Performance by an Actress
Winners: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook & Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty (Tie)

Best Supporting Performance by an Actor
Winner: Dwight Henry, Beasts of the Southern Wild
(runner-up: Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master)

Best Supporting Performance by an Actress
Winner: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables
(runner-up: Ann Dowd, Compliance)

Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Rian Johnson, Looper
(runner-up: Joss Whedon & Drew Goddard, The Cabin in the Woods)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower
(runner-up: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Cinematography
Winner: Roger Deakins, Skyfall
(runner-up: Claudio Miranda, Life of Pi)

Best Documentary Feature
Winner: Indie Game: The Movie
(runner-up: The Invisible War)

Best Non-English Language Feature
Winner: Headhunters
(runner-up: Amour)

Best Animated Feature
Winner: ParaNorman
(runner-ups: Frankenweenie & Wreck-It Ralph)

About the Utah Film Critics Association: The Utah Film Critics Association is made up of film journalists from print, online and broadcast media based in Utah. Members include: Rich Bonaduce,; Cody Clark, Daily Herald; Luke Hickman,; Jimmy Martin, Big Movie Mouth-Off/ SLUG Magazine; Sean P. Means, Salt Lake Tribune; Dan Metcalf, KTVX ABC-4; Andy Morgan, KNVU-AM; Ryan Michael Painter, KUTV 2; Aaron Peck, Logan Herald-Journal; Scott Renshaw, Salt Lake City Weekly; Steve Salles, Standard-Examiner (Ogden); Mike Thiriot, KTHB 94.9 FM; Tony Toscano, Talking Pictures; Jeff Michael Vice, KXRK-FM/Big Movie Mouth-Off; and Doug Wright, KSL Movie Show.